Section 301

USTR opens second four-year review process for China Section 301 actions

USTR initiated a review process that can later affect China-origin tariff actions and exclusions; the initiation notice itself does not change duty rates. On October 7, 2026 USTR published the outcome of the first step: it received continuation requests, so neither the July 6, 2018 nor the August 23, 2018 action terminated, and both remain in effect (91 FR 64212). Saved-code monitoring flags potentially affected HTS codes, links back to the official notice, and gives import teams a starting point for broker review before purchase orders or landed-cost assumptions change. Affected codes and effective dates are shown with official source links and review notes.

Source: Federal Register / USTRRefreshed Aug 10, 2026Reviewed by Tariff SentinelLast reviewed Aug 10, 2026Official source Spotted an error?
PublishedMay 6, 2026
EffectiveMay 6, 2026
Review statusReviewed
Source checkedAug 10, 2026

Where the second four-year review stands as of October 12, 2026

USTR has decided the first step: both China Section 301 actions continue. Its Continuation of Actions notice, published October 7, 2026 (91 FR 64212, FR Doc 2026-20510), says USTR received 68 continuation requests from domestic producers and 18 from trade associations for the July 6, 2018 action, and 57 and 19 for the August 23, 2018 action. So the July 6, 2018 action, as modified, "did not terminate on July 6, 2026," the August 23, 2018 action did not terminate on August 23, 2026, and both "will remain in effect, subject to possible further modifications." Nothing about the duties changed: List 1, List 2 and List 3 goods still carry an additional 25% and List 4A goods 7.5%, stacked on the normal Column 1 duty, as the Chapter 99 headings 9903.88.01, .02, .03 and .15 read in 2026 HTS Revision 22 on October 31, 2026. The notice does not set a date for the next phase. Under Section 307(c)(3) of the Trade Act, USTR will now review the actions and says it will publish a separate notice describing that process, which will invite comments on how well the actions work, other actions that could be taken, and their effects on the U.S. economy, including consumers. As of October 31, 2026 that notice had not been published in the Federal Register.

How long USTR took to announce continuation in 2022 — the timing precedent

In the first four-year review the announcement came 65 days after the docket closed, so a July silence is normal. The 2022 sequence is on the record and is the closest available guide to 2026: USTR initiated the first review on May 5, 2022, the July 6, 2018 action docket closed July 5, 2022, the August 23, 2018 action docket closed August 22, 2022, and USTR then published a single combined "Continuation of Actions" notice on September 8, 2022 (87 FR 55073, FR Doc 2022-19365) covering both actions — 65 days after the first docket closed and only 17 days after the second one did. That notice reported the volume behind the decision: for the July 6, 2018 action USTR received 244 requests from domestic producers and 44 from trade associations; for the August 23, 2018 action, 114 from producers and 32 from trade associations. Its DATES section then stated retroactively that "the July 6, 2018 action, as modified, did not terminate on July 6, 2022" and that "the August 23, 2018 action, as modified, did not terminate on August 22, 2022." The 2026 review followed the same sequence, more slowly. USTR again waited for both dockets to close and published one combined notice for both actions, on October 7, 2026 (91 FR 64212): 94 days after the July 5, 2026 close and 46 days after the August 22, 2026 close, against 65 and 17 days in 2022. It again stated non-termination after the anniversaries had passed. In both reviews, an importer who stopped reporting the List 1 Chapter 99 overlay when the anniversary passed in silence would have under-declared duty for months.

What to check now that USTR has continued both actions

The continuation notice settles whether the actions survive their anniversaries; it does not end the review. Three source events matter next. First, USTR's separate notice describing the review and its comment window, which is where a change to List 1, List 2, List 3, List 4A or the exclusions would start. Second, any later notice that actually modifies a rate, a product list or an exclusion; until one is published, keep applying the current Chapter 99 heading for your code and entry date. Third, the two live exclusion headings, 9903.88.69 and 9903.88.70, which stop applying to entries made after 11:59 p.m. eastern daylight time on November 9, 2026 unless USTR extends them.

How the four-year review works and what it can and cannot do

Section 301 trade actions are governed by the Trade Act of 1974. Under Section 307(c) of that Act (19 U.S.C. 2417(c)), a Section 301 action terminates four years after it takes effect unless a representative of a domestic industry that benefits from the action asks USTR to continue it. When continuation is requested, USTR reviews whether the action remains effective and how it affects the U.S. economy, including consumers. This May 6, 2026 notice opens that request-for-continuation and review process for the China technology-transfer actions. It does not by itself raise, lower, add, or remove any duty rate or product exclusion; any change would come only through a later, separate notice after the review.

This is the second four-year review of the China Section 301 actions

The two underlying actions took effect on July 6, 2018 (List 1) and August 23, 2018 (List 2). USTR later modified those actions under Section 307 by adding supplemental product lists, including List 3 and List 4A, by creating temporary product exclusions, and by making changes after the first statutory four-year review. The 2026 notice begins the second review of the two actions as modified, so import teams should read it as a signal that the existing China Section 301 structure is being re-examined, not as an immediate change to landed cost.

Why Lists 3 and 4A still need monitoring during this review

The Federal Register notice does not treat List 3 and List 4A as irrelevant to the 2026 process. It lists both as modifications currently in effect and says USTR would examine the July 6, 2018 action and the August 23, 2018 action, as modified, through those notices. That is why a List 4A footwear code such as 6404.20.40, a List 4A plastics code such as 3924.90.56, and a List 3 travel-goods code such as 4202.92.31 all remain source-watch candidates even though their current additional rates differ.

Key dates

  • Initiation notice published: May 6, 2026
  • July 6, 2018 action: continuation-request window: May 7 to July 5, 2026
  • July 6, 2018 action: statutory termination date absent continuation request: July 6, 2026
  • Aug 23, 2018 action: continuation-request window: June 24 to Aug 22, 2026
  • Aug 23, 2018 action: statutory termination date absent continuation request: Aug 23, 2026
  • 2022 precedent: July 6, 2018 action docket closed: July 5, 2022
  • 2022 precedent: USTR published Continuation of Actions: September 8, 2022 (87 FR 55073) — 65 days after that docket closed
  • 2026 outcome: USTR published Continuation of Actions — neither action terminated: October 7, 2026 (91 FR 64212) — 94 days after the July 5 docket closed, 46 days after the August 22 one

China Section 301 lists, current rates, and 2026 review timing

List / actionCurrent additional rate2026 continuation-request windowTermination date if no qualifying request is filedOutcome (Oct 7, 2026 notice)
List 1 / July 6, 2018 action25%May 7 to July 5, 2026July 6, 2026Continued — did not terminate on July 6, 2026
List 2 / August 23, 2018 action25%June 24 to Aug 22, 2026Aug 23, 2026Continued — did not terminate on Aug 23, 2026
List 3 supplemental modification (83 FR 47974, as modified)25%Listed by the notice as a modification to both actions; not assigned to either oneNot stated in the notice — no action-specific termination date can be read across to List 3Still in effect — both actions continue "as modified"
List 4A supplemental modification (84 FR 43304, as modified)7.5%Listed by the notice as a modification to both actions; not assigned to either oneNot stated in the notice — no action-specific termination date can be read across to List 4AStill in effect — both actions continue "as modified"

The May 6, 2026 notice covers two Section 301 actions: the July 6, 2018 action and the August 23, 2018 action, both as modified. The notice expressly lists List 3, List 4A, first-review modifications, and exclusions as modifications currently in effect, so importers should treat the review as a live monitor for the full China Section 301 structure while still confirming the specific Chapter 99 heading for each product.

List 4B was announced but never took effect. Separately, the first four-year review concluded in September 2024 with targeted increases on specific products — including electric vehicles, EV batteries, solar cells, steel and aluminum, ship-to-shore cranes, syringes, and certain critical minerals — phasing in through 2026 at rates up to 100%. Confirm the additional rate, exclusion eligibility, and entry-date rules for your specific HTS code against the official USTR and CBP sources.

6 9903.88 headings have their own page here, each carrying the verbatim article description, all three duty columns, and the cited U.S. note 20 subdivision — start from the Chapter 99 9903.88 heading index, or click a heading number wherever one appears as a row key to go straight to it.

Affected HTS codes

Related review paths

Related tariff changes

Frequently asked questions

Will the China Section 301 tariffs end in 2026?

No. USTR's Continuation of Actions notice of October 7, 2026 (91 FR 64212) says it received continuation requests for both actions, so the July 6, 2018 action did not terminate on July 6, 2026, the August 23, 2018 action did not terminate on August 23, 2026, and both remain in effect, subject to possible further modifications from the review. For background: under the statute, the July 6, 2018 action (the 25% List 1 duties) would have terminated on July 6, 2026 and the August 23, 2018 action (List 2) on August 23, 2026 if no benefiting U.S. domestic industry had requested continuation in its window — May 7 to July 5, 2026, and June 24 to August 22, 2026, respectively. Requests were filed in both windows, as they were in the first four-year review, so the tariffs stay in effect while USTR runs the review.

Did the List 1 Section 301 tariffs lapse when July 6, 2026 passed without an announcement?

No. USTR said nothing on the anniversary, and on October 7, 2026 its Continuation of Actions notice (91 FR 64212) stated that the July 6, 2018 action, as modified, "did not terminate on July 6, 2026." The 25% List 1 overlay therefore stayed in force throughout the gap. The same thing happened in the first four-year review: the anniversary passed in silence and USTR's notice of September 8, 2022 stated retroactively that the action "did not terminate on July 6, 2022." Importers who kept reporting the Chapter 99 overlay through the gap were right both times.

When did USTR announce that the 2026 China Section 301 actions continue?

On October 7, 2026, in one combined Continuation of Actions notice covering both actions (91 FR 64212, FR Doc 2026-20510). That was 94 days after the July 6, 2018 action's request window closed on July 5, 2026, and 46 days after the August 23, 2018 action's window closed on August 22, 2026. In the first review the equivalent notice came on September 8, 2022 — 65 and 17 days after the two dockets closed. Both times USTR waited for the second docket to close and then decided both actions at once.

Does this four-year review change my Section 301 tariff rate right now?

No. The initiation notice opens a review and comment process, and the October 7, 2026 continuation notice keeps both actions in effect; neither changes any duty rate or product exclusion on its own. Any change would require a later, separate USTR action. Until then, keep applying the Section 301 rate and any active exclusion that governs your HTS code and entry date.

What is the four-year review of China Section 301 tariffs?

It is the statutory review required by Section 307(c) of the Trade Act of 1974. A Section 301 action ends four years after it takes effect unless a domestic industry that benefits from it asks USTR to continue the action. If continuation is requested, USTR reviews whether the action is still effective and how it affects the U.S. economy before deciding whether to keep, modify, or end it.

When can continuation requests or comments be filed?

The continuation-request windows have closed: May 7 to July 5, 2026 for the July 6, 2018 action, and June 24 to August 22, 2026 for the August 23, 2018 action. USTR received requests in both. The next opportunity is the review comment process, which USTR says it will describe in a separate Federal Register notice; as of October 12, 2026 it had not been published.

Which HTS codes does this review affect?

The review concerns the China technology-transfer Section 301 actions broadly, not a fixed short list of codes. Tariff Sentinel flags codes in this catalog that carry China-origin Section 301 overlays so you have a starting point, but you still need to confirm the current Chapter 99 treatment, exclusion eligibility, and entry-date rules for your specific product against the official sources.

What are the current Section 301 tariff rates on Chinese goods in 2026?

The additional Section 301 duty is generally 25% for goods on Lists 1, 2, and 3 and 7.5% for goods on List 4A, stacked on top of the normal Column 1 duty. Separately, targeted increases from the first four-year review took effect in September 2024 and phase in through 2026 on specific products — for example electric vehicles, EV batteries, solar cells, steel and aluminum, and certain critical minerals — at rates up to 100%. Your actual rate depends on the HTS code, origin, entry date, and any active exclusion, so confirm it against the official USTR action list and your CBP entry data.

Does the 2026 second four-year review cover all four Section 301 tariff lists?

It covers two Section 301 actions as modified, not four standalone statutory actions. List 1 belongs to the July 6, 2018 action and List 2 belongs to the August 23, 2018 action; the notice also lists List 3 and List 4A as modifications currently in effect. The practical takeaway is that all China Section 301 list treatment should stay on watch, while the exact deadline and Chapter 99 heading for a shipment still need source-specific review.

What happens if no continuation request is filed in a 2026 review window?

Under the statute cited in the notice, the relevant action terminates at the close of its four-year period if no representative of a benefiting domestic industry submits a continuation request in the last 60 days. For 2026, that meant July 6, 2026 for the July 6, 2018 action and August 23, 2026 for the August 23, 2018 action. It did not happen: USTR received requests for both actions and announced on October 7, 2026 (91 FR 64212) that neither terminated. The review phase comes next, before any modification.

What should importers check now that USTR has continued the actions?

Keep reporting the Chapter 99 heading that controls your code and entry date: the October 7, 2026 continuation notice (91 FR 64212) changed no rate. Then watch for USTR's separate notice describing the review and its comment window, check the Federal Register's USTR page for any later notice that modifies a rate, list or exclusion, and plan for the November 9, 2026 end of the two live exclusion headings, 9903.88.69 and 9903.88.70, unless USTR extends them.

Official source links

Sources verified for this notice

Last verified: Aug 10, 2026. Dates, process details, source-watch status, and review caveats above were checked against the cited official sources on that date. Always confirm the controlling text in the official source before filing or sourcing decisions.

What to do with this notice

Compare the affected HTS list with your saved codes, then check whether the official text limits treatment by country, entry date, product description, importer action, or exclusion language. A notice can be important even when it does not immediately change the duty shown on a calculator.

Tariff Sentinel keeps the source URL, official PDF when available, and review status close to the affected-code list so teams can decide whether to update landed-cost assumptions, hold a purchase order, or send the source to a broker for a product-specific reading. Keep the reviewed source with the shipment file so later audits can show which notice informed the decision and when it was checked.